Women of Vision Honored


2.1.2008 – Jody Miller

For almost 30 years, the Women’s History Project of the Akron Area Inc. has highlighted the contributions women make to the city, county, region and the nation through with its Women of the Year Awards. This year’s awards honor women who have followed their vision and found creative and/or artistic ways to contribute to our community.

Honorees are:
* Integrity – Tracy Carter, director of government relations, Summa;
* Faye Dambrot (Heroine) Award – Andrea Denton, County of Summit Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board;
* Innovation – Marcella Kanfer Rolnick, co-founder of the Lippman Kanfer Institute for Innovation in Jewish Learning and Engagement at Jewish Educational Service of North America;
* Creativity – Jan Householder, founder of the Giving Doll Project;
* Perseverance – Janet Purnell, retired public school educator and university administrator;
* Pioneer – Dr. Lynn Metzger, of Bath, retired from The University of Akron;
* Posthumous – Susan Pavloff, dedicated community volunteer;
* Woman to Watch – Elizabeth Remmel (now Scott), founder and creative director of iMMiX Studio design firm; and
* Elizabeth Buchtel Award for Philanthropy – Ann Amer Brennan

The Awards Dinner will be March 4 at The University of Akron Martin Center. For further details, contact Theresa Beyerle at 330-687-2745 or via e-mail atwomenshistory1@uakron.edu

Leave a Reply